The 2020 SAPOA property journalism awards for excellence are now open for submission

Posted On Monday, 03 February 2020 07:27 Published by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Aimed at recognising and honouring South African property journalists who have made a noteworthy contribution to the commercial and industrial property industry through quality media coverage of the property industry, the SAPOA Property Journalism Awards for Excellence return for the 2020 instalment.


The overarching theme for this year’s awards remains the same as last year: Authentic journalism is good business practice. It is the art of taking information and adding value to it. “In today’s increasingly volatile socio-economic and political world, quality journalism that is fair, accurate and unbiased, remain critical. It is less about the story and more about the layers and context of the story that need to be explored. The SAPOA Journalism Awards for Excellence are designed to applaud local media who use their words boldly to tell the truth and challenge the status quo,” says SAPOA Chief Executive Officer, Neil Gopal.

The media landscape is changing at a rapid rate. According to SAPOA Chairperson of the Journalism Awards Committee, Brian Azizollahoff, whilst presentation on different media platforms used to be important a few years ago, the key to success in media nowadays is content, irrespective of the platform on which it is featured. “Most journalists nowadays work across platforms and it is not unusual for someone considered to be a print journalist to also produce videos, audio, online and social media offerings. The SAPOA Journalism Awards for Excellence needs to keep abreast with these changes and, as such, we have revamped the criteria in each of our categories to align with this. Categories will now be content-driven as opposed to platform or aesthetics-driven.”

The awards seek to identify well-informed, researched and credibly presented in-depth reporting that makes a difference and reports objectively on the property industry. The winners of the different categories will be honoured and rewarded irrespective of the media platform in which their stories were first published.

Submissions for the awards open today and will be judged in five main categories, namely Best Newcomer of the Year, Property News Journalist of the year, Property Feature Journalist of the Year, Property Publication of the Year and Property News Website of the Year.

Entries close on Friday 6 March 2020 and nominees and winners will be announced at the SAPOA Convention & Property Networking, taking place from 3-5 June 2020 at Sun City, North West Province.

Last modified on Wednesday, 05 February 2020 08:21

Most Popular

Balwin Properties announces R9 billion Munyaka Crystal Lagoon development in Waterfall, Midrand

Feb 06, 2020
Munyaka Crystal Lagoon
JSE listed Balwin Properties, a developer that cares about environmentally responsible…

Atterbury develops new Cape Town showroom for WeBuyCars

Jan 30, 2020
Atterbury We Buy Cars exterior view
Leading property developer and investor Atterbury has handed over the innovative…

New fire safety global standard being developed for buildings and infrastructure

Jan 30, 2020
TC Chetty RICS SA Country Manager
The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) is collaborating with a coalition of…

Green Building Council SA to reduce physical footprint

Jan 29, 2020
Dora Modise CEO GBCSA
Green Building Council South Africa (GBCSA) will be reducing their physical office…

Redefine Properties further enhances liquidity with sale of Strykow

Feb 03, 2020
Andrew Konig CEO Redefine
Redefine Properties further enhances liquidity with sale of Strykow.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.